Book Reviews-Enlightenment for Newbies

Overall 4 out of 5 stars
Performance 5 out of 5 stars
Story 4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Abigail P
Abigail P
10-13-19
Described Well
Martin K. Ettington’s basic premise is to stick with the classic liberal program of science and capitalism, tweak governance as data suggests, and do not throw future unborn babies out with the bathwater to supposedly save ourselves. The current system is the best system we know of for encouraging the development of solutions to our most vexing problems.

Overall 4 out of 5 stars
Performance 5 out of 5 stars
Story 4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Courty
Courty
10-13-19
Good Author
Good for Martin K. Ettington for using data and maintaining patience among nihilism in this world!

Overall 5 out of 5 stars
Performance 5 out of 5 stars
Story 4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Oliver John
Oliver John
10-13-19
Interesting
It’s a great book, and Martin covers a lot of ground. I could mention some quibbles. But that seems beside the point given how much great stuff is in here. I learned a lot, and while Martin is not always concise, I appreciate his balance and nuance.

Overall 4 out of 5 stars
Performance 5 out of 5 stars
Story 5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ranjeet
Ranjeet
10-12-19
Awesome Book
A brilliant book. Well-founded arguments, properly researched. I highly recommend it to all who need to get enlightenment.

Overall 5 out of 5 stars
Performance 5 out of 5 stars
Story 4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for M.Silvester
M.Silvester
10-12-19
Very Captivating
Martin K. Ettington has made several talks that provide really good discussions that cover most of the same subjects that are discussed in the book.

Overall 4 out of 5 stars
Performance 4 out of 5 stars
Story 5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for M.Johny
M.Johny
10-12-19
This is a great book
This is a great book in that it is quite relatable and includes a lot of information showing that almost everything has been improving since the Enlightenment.

Overall 5 out of 5 stars
Performance 5 out of 5 stars
Story 5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for D. Rebbe
D. Rebbe
10-12-19
Good For Newbies
This is a great book and an inspiration for those of us who support the institutions of the Enlightenment like free speech, critical inquiry, and open government.

Overall 4 out of 5 stars
Performance 4 out of 5 stars
Story 5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Isabella Tam
Isabella Tam
USA
10-11-19
Thank You
Kudos to Martin K. Ettington for making this excellent book and a request to dumb it down and make it free so everyone can partake in the logic.

Overall 5 out of 5 stars
Performance 5 out of 5 stars
Story 4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Everette Benjamin
Everette Benjamin
10-11-19
Well-argued
This book challenged a lot of my preconceptions about the state of the world, which I deeply appreciate. It is very well written and very well-argued and very well researched.

Overall 5 out of 5 stars
Performance 5 out of 5 stars
Story 5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Zinger
Zinger
10-11-19
Five Stars
The concept of the possibility of progress threatens progressives a lot. It undermines their worldview, their narrative and their plans.

Overall 5 out of 5 stars
Performance 5 out of 5 stars
Story 4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Morgan
Morgan
10-11-19
Impressive Book
Fantastic book. It provides a very strong case that progress is possible (not inevitable!) and that we have experienced a couple of centuries of flourishing that is greater than any other era for the human race.

Overall 5 out of 5 stars
Performance 5 out of 5 stars
Story 5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Charlotte
Charlotte
10-09-19
Great Introduction
In this book, Martin expressed an impressive amount of evidence to support the claim that the enlightenment ideals of reason, science and humanism have led to considerable human progress and that the future of civilization hinges upon continuing this tradition.

Overall 5 out of 5 stars
Performance 5 out of 5 stars
Story 5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for M.M
M.M
10-09-19
Clearly-articulated
This is a well-researched, clearly-articulated case for Enlightenment values. I recommend this book to all.

Was this review helpful for you?

Helpful
Not Helpful
Report this
Overall 5 out of 5 stars
Performance 4 out of 5 stars
Story 4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for McGuire Abigail
McGuire Abigail
NY
10-09-19
Great Way OF Explanation
I enjoyed listening to this book. Martin K. Ettington is always very articulate and easy to understand, yet his arguments go deeper so despite the ease of reading it makes one think.

Overall 5 out of 5 stars
Performance 5 out of 5 stars
Story 5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mira Wilson
Mira Wilson
10-09-19
Impressive
This is a brilliant book! This is material I have pondered for many years, but Martin does a marvelous job of tying multiple loose strings together.